Castle Barna Golf Club, 24th July, Captains Prize

Captain’s (Mr. Adrian Stewart) Prize
24th July

The 36 qualifiers who battled through the first round last Sunday teed it up in their quest to land Adrian Stewart`s Captain`s Prize. An early drizzle, a bit of sunshine and a westerly wind were to be contended with in order to shoot a low number. Niall Smyth (12) made a run from mid table to capture 4th net adding a 69 to his opening round 74 for 143 net total. 3rd net went to Daingean`s Adrian Duffy (17) who kept it steady to record 141 net. First Gross, not for the first time, went to Derek Hannon (1), the Croghan man taking 151 shots over the two rounds. 2nd Gross went to Ballinagar`s Fergal Scally (5) with 158, one ahead of 3rd Gross Shane Butler (7) on 159. In the runner up spot was Chris Merrigan (16). Chris led the way last week with a super 65, but couldn’t claim the Captain`s Prize as he did not have enough qualifying events played. This was due to his work in the Middle East where he operates as a tour guide. Still if you cannot claim the overall prize, second is the next best thing. The winner of the Captain`s Prize for 2016 was Monasterevin resident Andrew Phillips (17). Andrew added the days best score of 65 to his opening 67 for a 132 net total to claim victory by a whopping 7 shot margin. He was effectively the leader going out, and like the thoroughbreds he works with, Andrew produced a great front running performance of mental strength and consistency. Andrew has been a member in Castle Barna for four years and this is his first notable triumph, which he will remember for a long time. Others in the prizes were, Committee – Dan Cunningham, Past Captain – Kevin Kennedy and Leading Qualifier Aaron Duffy, 66. A special mention for Artur Geszczak who was reaching for a provisional ball as his tee shot on the 9th was heading for the Grand Canal. The ball hit an outside branch, a ricochet back onto the green and straight into the hole, for surely the flukiest hole in one ever. But Artur will tell you it was a perfect pitching wedge. Some claimed it was captured on camera, and Artur even brought his own Oscar to the prize giving.
Well done to our Captain Adrian Stewart, his hard working committee, and all the staff in Castle Barna, for a very successful 2016 edition of the Captain’s Prize.

Captain’s Plate:
Before the main event those who missed out on qualifying were given another opportunity to be involved in the big day with a competition for the Captain’s Plate. The winner of this stableford event was Ballinagar glazer Wes Daly (18) with 39 points. Wes won on a count back from David Hughes (23). David 3 putting the 18th and having to be content with the Captain`s Saucer. Stephen Egan (10) won Div. 1 with a modest 33 pts. Div. 2 went to Nigel Molloy (15) with 38 pts. Conor Corcoran (18) claimed Div. 3 with 37 pts. Paddy Casey (22) was in the prizes again taking Div. 4 with 38 pts.

Next weekends competition is an Open Fourball sponsored by OCM Security Services, with the Furlong Open Singles taking place on Bank Holiday Monday.